My journey into blogging

OK, this is a bit scary! Let me introduce myself then it won’t be so awkward:

I’m Angela N, 30 something, school librarian for the last six months. I consider myself one of the luckiest people on the planet because I am doing my dream job. I absolutely love books, everything about them! That new book smell; that old, well-loved book odour; the different coloured spines lined up on the shelves. Yes, I’m a book addict and I will literally read any fiction.

After university I became a teaching assistant in a secondary school in my home region of the North East of England. After 10 years in that position, I had the chance to apply for the school librarian role and there was no question about it: I Wanted That Job! Seriously, being a librarian is what I’ve wanted since I was a little girl, squashed onto one of the huge leather chairs in my local library and watching the librarians stamping books. My Dad even bought me my own date stamp so we could play libraries!

I haven’t looked back since accepting the role; it combines perfectly my love of books and my experience in the classroom. Except now I don’t have to feign interest in maths or technology lessons, I can just focus on promoting reading and researching!

So why the blog? By nature I’m not given to sharing my thoughts but I do love to write. As part of my new role I am taking a librarianship qualification and I am hoping to meet likeminded bloggers who will help me along on my journey. Hopefully you will join me on my adventures in librarianship!

Leave a Reply

