New followers and a disappearing header

First of all, thanks to my three new followers, it’s nice to know I’m not talking to myself anymore! Second of all, I changed my header this morning to a custom photo and now it seems to have reverted back; this could have something to do with me changing it on my home computer and viewing it on my work computer which is pretty much from the Stone Age.

Following the initial success of the Golden Ticket with our before-school visitors yesterday, I then presented the scheme to my first class…Who promptly ransacked the shelves. I’m talking books on the floor, books upside down, back to front, in the wrong place. Aaargh! I have decided to put more Golden Tickets out because, after the initial ransacking, kids in that class were sitting and reading much longer books than they had previously attempted and actually wanted to talk to me about them!

Today has been challenging so far: Two classes in the library and some students in both deliberately moved all the books on our lowest Accelerated Reader levels so they were completely in the wrong places. It took 10 minutes at the end of the first lesson to put it right and then again at the end of the second. To top it all off break has just finished and there are crumbs and chewing gum everywhere.

One of the habits we are trying to break is the ‘library as youth club’ culture which has been ingrained for some time. A lot of pupils see it as a nice warm place to gather and chat rather than to read or do homework and it is these chatterers who often leave the mess. If anyone out there in Blogland has any tips for creating a calm library atmosphere at social times then I’m ready to hear it!

Anyway, I think I’ll leave it here for today because I don’t want my blog to become somewhere where I just whine about the things that annoy me! Tomorrow I’ll try to write a post introducing my library a bit more.

Leave a Reply

