It’s the little moments…

…that make it worthwhile. Short and sweet today. There was a ray of sunshine in an otherwise pretty stressful day today. J, a student who can be very challenging (intelligent but with a dreadful home life and incredibly full of  energy) finished his first ‘proper long book.’ It was one of the World Of Norm books and he was so eager to read the next one he was charging around the library looking for it. When I checked it out for him he was lingering by the desk, picking things up and chattering non-stop. I said “J you’ve got ten minutes until break time, why don’t you go and start your new book?” To which he replied “I can’t, I’m too excited!” Well, it made me smile; I never thought my students could be so excited about reading itself that they were then unable to read!

Leave a Reply

