School’s Out!!

It’s finally the end of the school year and I can honestly say it’s been the most stressful year of my working life. It started off at our local football stadium for a training day. I was a season ticket holder for nearly 20 years and thought I’d felt bad there before; until the new head told us there would be massive redundancies. That felt worse then relegation.

I’ve always felt privileged to work with teenagers and I genuinely love my job. I don’t think there are many people who can say that and the thought of not being able to work with ‘my’ kids anymore was horrible.

As the new staffing structure came out it became apparent that there would not be many teaching assistant posts left but that there would be a new job in the library. I jumped at the chance because that was what I wanted to be when I was a little girl! I actually enjoyed the interview and I felt such a sense of relief when I was offered the job; the best part being that I was permitted to continue my part-time hours (the uncertainty over this was what caused me the most stress.)

Just lately there have been a few bumps in the road with my colleague but I’m determined not to let it bother me because this is my dream job, after all.

Since the end of the restructure the uncertainty did not stop with the school going into special measures. We are now entering into an academy trust which means yet more changes next year and possibly another restructure. I’m not thinking or worrying about it because I nearly made myself ill at the beginning of the year and nothing is worth that.

So now I’m beginning my summer holidays. I plan to work on CILIP a bit which will mean visiting some local public libraries. I haven’t been to my childhood library for years so it will be a nice trip down memory lane. Other than that little bit of work, I plan to sleep, read, sleep a bit more, read a lot more and that’s about it!

Leave a Reply

